Content provider

New Zealand Parliament

Title page of the Electoral Referendum Bill.

Electoral Referendum Bill. Photo: Office of the Clerk.

30 April 2010
Related documents

Electoral Legislation Committee

On 25 March the House established the Electoral Legislation Committee. The committee’s role is to examine legislation referred to it and report back to the House with its recommendations on them.

All the parties currently represented in Parliament are represented on the new committee. The 12 committee members are as follows: representing New Zealand National, Amy Adams (Chairperson), Hekia Parata, Paul Quinn, and Chris Tremain; representing New Zealand Labour, the Hon Lianne Dalziel (Deputy Chairperson), the Hon Pete Hodgson, and the Hon Darren Hughes; and representing the other parties, Metiria Turei (Green Party), John Boscawen (ACT), Rahui Katene (Māori Party), the Hon Jim Anderton (Progressives), and the Hon Peter Dunne (United Future).

On 15 April 2010 the Electoral Referendum Bill was referred to the committee. The chairperson has called for submissions on the bill, which close on 10 June 2010. You can make your submission online from this website (see link from the `Related documents´ panel).