Members of Parliament

Current MPs

Political party
NZ First
Asenati Lole-Taylor.

Asenati Lole-Taylor.

15 August 2014
Contact details
Parliament Office
Private Bag 18888
Parliament Buildings
Wellington 6160
Email contacts
Related links

Asenati Lole-Taylor

List member, NZ First

  • Entered Parliament: 14 December 2011
  • Member of the following Parliaments: 50th

Member of / List Party Date
List NZ First 14 December 2011 -

Current Parliamentary Roles

  • Spokesperson, Corrections
  • Spokesperson, Ethnic Affairs
  • Spokesperson, Pacific Island Affairs
  • Spokesperson, Social Policy / Welfare
  • Associate Spokesperson, Housing

Former Parliamentary Roles

Select Committees

  • Member, Law and Order Committee: 21 December 2011 - 7 March 2012
  • Member, Social Services Committee: 7 March 2012 – 14 August 2014

Personal details

  • Born in Samoa in 1962 and arrived in New Zealand in 1980
  • Villages - Father: Safa’atoa Lefaga and Mother: Safune Toamua Faleata. Married with three children
  • Bestowed high orator chief title: Le’aufa’amulia of Falese’ela Lefaga


  • Saina and Safa’ato’a Primary school
  • Levaula College, Methodist private school, Faleula, Samoa
  • Mangere College
  • Manukau Technical Institute (professional development papers)
  • University of Auckland (tertiary papers)


  • Ministry of Justice, Prison Service (Mt Eden Prison) 1987-1988
  • Ministry of Justice, Public Registries (Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages) 1989-1996
  • Waitemata Health Alcohol and Drugs Services (Auckland Methadone Treatment Services) 1996-1997
  • Auckland School of Medicine Community and Public Health Department 1997-1999
  • Auckland City Council (Traffic and Road Services) 2000-2003
  • Auckland City Council (Strategic Development) 2003-2006
  • Regional Advisor (Northern), Department of Corrections 2006-2011
  • Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) Pacific Steering Committee

Community activities

  • Chairperson, Healthy Village Action Zone (HVAZ) Steering Committee
  • Member ADHB Pacific Health Advisory Committee
  • Chairperson, ARA Community Trust
  • Former Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer, Board of Trustees, St. Joseph School, Grey Lynn (19 years)
  • Founding member and inaugural chairperson of the Pacific Islands Board, Auckland City 2004-2009
  • Founding and former member, Samoa Auckland City Community Fono (SACCF)
  • Former chairperson, Tagata Pasefika community group
  • Elder (deacon), Pacific Islands Presbyterian Church, Newton

Party activities

  • Chairperson, Manukau East NZ First electorate committee
  • Deputy chairperson, Mangere NZ First electorate committee
  • Former chairperson, Maungakiekie NZ First electorate committee
  • Former chairperson, Mt. Roskill NZ First electorate committee

Leisure activities

  • Research into criminogenic rehabilitative initiatives.
  • Enjoys sports (cricket, badminton and squash), travel, reading and history.