Parliamentary parties

Green Party

Content provider

New Zealand Parliament

Green Party logo.

Green Party logo.

18 December 2011
Related links

The Green Party of Aotearoa / New Zealand (Green Party) is an opposition party. The Green Party has 14 members of Parliament all elected from the party list.

Green Party in Parliament

The Greens, The Green Party of Aotearoa / New Zealand, first registered with the Electoral Commission in August 1995 and entered Parliament in 1995. The party has not been in Government.

The Green Party has 14 members in the 50th Parliament, all elected from the party list.

The party is led by co-leaders, Metiria Turei and Russel Norman.

Green Party message

‘The Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand accepts Te Tiriti o Waitangi as the founding document of Aotearoa New Zealand; recognises Maori as Tangata Whenua in Aotearoa New Zealand; and commits to the following four Principles:

Ecological Wisdom:

The basis of ecological wisdom is that human beings are part of the natural world. This world is finite, therefore unlimited material growth is impossible. Ecological sustainability is paramount.

Social Responsibility:

Unlimited material growth is impossible. Therefore the key to social responsibility is the just distribution of social and natural resources, both locally and globally.

Appropriate Decision-making:

For the implementation of ecological wisdom and social responsibility, decisions will be made directly at the appropriate level by those affected.


Non-violent conflict resolution is the process by which ecological wisdom, social responsibility and appropriate decision making will be implemented. This principle applies at all levels.’

Source: Green Party,, accessed 19 December 2011