New Zealand Parliament Pāremata Aotearoa

Offices of Parliament

There are three offices of Parliament — the Office of the Auditor General, the Office of the Ombudsman, and the office of the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment.

Each is administered by an officer of Parliament appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the House of Representatives. They report direct to the House of Representatives.

Office of the Auditor-General

The Controller and Auditor-General is the auditor of every public entity. This includes auditing the Crown, public service departments, Crown entities, State enterprises, local authorities, and a number of other public bodies.

Office of the Ombudsman

There is currently one Ombudsman appointed. Their role is to investigate complaints about administrative decisions or recommendations made by New Zealand central, regional, and local government organisations or agencies. They are an independent review authority accountable to Parliament.

Office of the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment

The Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment has wide powers to investigate and report on any matter where the environment may be adversely affected. Select committees may also ask the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment to advise them on environmental matters.