New Zealand Parliament Pāremata Aotearoa

National Party

The New Zealand National Party (National Party) has 54 members of Parliament, 15 elected from the party list and 39 electorate seats. The National Party is in Opposition. 

> Related content

New Zealand National Party in Parliament

The New Zealand National Party was established in 1936 from the Reform-United Coalition. The party first entered Parliament that same year.  The party has been in five Governments: 1949–1957, 1960–1972, 1975–1984, 1990–1999, and 2008-2017.

The party leader is the Judith Collins, Leader of the Opposition and member for Papakura

National Party message

'The National Party has always valued enterprise, hard work and the rewards that go with success. We will continue to aspire to a New Zealand where all New Zealanders can flourish.

We believe this will be achieved by building a society based on the following values:

  • Loyalty to our country, its democratic principles, and our Sovereign as Head of State
  • National and personal security
  • Equal citizenship and equal opportunity
  • Individual freedom and choice
  • Personal Responsibility
  • Competitive enterprise and reward for achievement
  • Limited government
  • Strong families and caring communities
  • Sustainable development of our environment'

Source: National Party, accessed 20 February 2020.