New Zealand Parliament Pāremata Aotearoa

New Zealand First Party

The New Zealand First Party has 9 members of Parliament, all from the party list.

> Related content

New Zealand First in Parliament

NZ First registered with the Electoral Commission in December 1994. The party first entered Parliament that same year.

NZ First has been in one Government from 1996–1998. The Rt Hon Winston Peters was a Minister outside Cabinet in the Labour-led coalition 2005-2008.

The party leader is the Rt Hon Winston Peters, Deputy Prime Minister and List MP.

New Zealand First entered into a coalition agreement with the New Zealand Labour Party on 24 October 2017.

'New Zealand First’s policies inclusively reflect the interests of all New Zealanders and its approach is grounded in the reality of modern day New Zealand. The party is about putting New Zealand, and New Zealanders, first.'

Source: New Zealand First website, accessed 20 February 2020.