New Zealand Parliament Pāremata Aotearoa

Meet the Speaker of the 52nd Parliament

Published date: 7 Nov 2017

The Speaker of the House of Representatives / Te Mana Whakawā o te Whare for the 52nd Parliament is The Rt Hon. Trevor Mallard.

The Rt Hon. Trevor Mallard, Speaker, 52nd Parliament Enlarge image

The Rt Hon. Trevor Mallard, Speaker, 52nd Parliament

Source: Office of the Clerk, 2017

Candidates for Speaker are nominated and seconded by other MPs. Only one candidate was nominated so an election was not needed and Mr Mallard was declared as Speaker-Elect.

Once declared, Mr Mallard travelled to Government House to be confirmed as Speaker by the Governor-General.

Mr Mallard was first elected as an MP in 1984, more recently as a list MP and previously as an electorate MP for the Hutt South, Pencarrow and Hamilton West electorates.  He was an Assistant Speaker in the 51st Parliament (2014 to 2017).

He will be known as The Right Honourable Trevor Mallard.

The Speaker is essential to the running of the House and has to command the respect of all MPs. The New Zealand Speaker is allowed to maintain links with their party (unlike in some other Parliaments), but must not show any preference or disrespect for any political party, for the Government, or the Opposition while chairing proceedings in the House. All MPs must be given a fair opportunity to participate in the business of the House.

Follow the links to learn more about the role and history of the Speaker and about the new Speaker, The Rt Hon. Trevor Mallard.