New Zealand Parliament Pāremata Aotearoa

Executive agencies

The executive agencies in the parliamentary complex are the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, the Department of Internal Affairs, and the Parliamentary Counsel Office.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

The Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (DPMC) serves the Executive (the Governor-General, the Prime Minister, and the Cabinet) with high quality, impartial advice and support services to assist Government decision-making.

Department of Internal Affairs

The Department of Internal Affairs (DIA) is responsible for a wide range of services supporting government, communities, and citizenship. The Ministerial and Secretariat Services (MaSS) business group provides support services and policy advice for Ministers of the Crown. They publish the New Zealand Gazette and administer commissions of inquiry as and when required.

Parliamentary Counsel Office

The Parliamentary Counsel Office (PCO) is New Zealand's law drafting office. It drafts New Zealand Government Bills (except Inland Revenue Bills) and Legislative Instruments. And it publishes all New Zealand Bills, Acts, and Legislative Instruments on the New Zealand Legislation website and in hard copy.